Hasaq: Binding Love

It is funny and amazing how God uses books and publications to show His love for you. I am in the middle of my quiet time and I am so serious about it considering that these past few days, I didn’t have that much time to read my Bible or to devote enough time for Him by praying or just feeling His presence within me. With encouragement on my heart that is brewed by seeing people worship God lately this evening on LinK: Shout Night, I had an urge to read Ru Dela Torre’s weekly devotional book, Refuel: 53 Faith Building Pit-Stops on Your Road Trip.

Sensing that I am lost and I do not know the chapter I read last time (which was way way way back..), I randomly read two chapters. The second chapter that I just read really struck me deep in my heart. And I learned a new word in Hebrew and a new verse as well:

“Yet the Lord chose your ancestors as the objects of his love. And he chose you, their descendants, above all nations, as is evident today.” – Deuteronomy 10:15 (NLT, emphasis mine)

The context of the love stated on this verse is not just the normal love that we usually perceive. In its Hebrew translation, the love here means hasaq or in other words, binding love. The illustration is like, do you know the backpack-like thing mothers (or some dads) use for their babies in order for them to be flexible while their babies are safely strapped around that backpack-like thing? When the chapter used that illustration to show us what hasaq really is, I really imagine myself being with God safely strapped on Him with locks that have no keys! Again, locks with no keys! It is like what Paul said, “For I am convinced that neither death nor life, neither angels nor demons, neither the present nor the future, nor any powers, neither height nor depth, nor anything else in all creation, will be able to separate us from the love of God that is in Christ Jesus our Lord.” (Rom. 8:38-39 NIV)

NOTHING CAN SEPARATE US FROM THE BINDING LOVE OF GOD!

This is such a great blow for me as I have been condemning myself based on the actions that I did this week and for not putting Him as my top priority. But did you know what God said to me while reading the chapter/verse? “Kev, do not worry, I loved you for who you are, I still love you despite what you did, and I will love you even though your devotion for me is like a roller coaster ride.”

So let me encourage you with this: Warriors break their swords sometimes, but someone will always give you a sword so that you can carry on with your mission. That someone is our God. Even though you made the greatest mistake, even though it cause a lot of pain whether within yourself or towards others, God can always give you a fresh new start. All you have to do is to repent to Him, and ask Him to give you courage to mend things and to focus on His works and to what Jesus had done on the Cross. 🙂

Hasaq: Binding Love

Leave a Reply

