Impromptu Day.

Since I cannot contain it anymore, I am going to write what God did this Sunday.

  1. It was my first day as a volunteer in Admin Staff Ministry for 9 am and/or 11 am and I am refreshed by the devotionals led by Tita Adie. She shared about some testimonies that involve Christians who made someone open up problems with just a smile. Indeed, there is power within ourselves, given by God, in order for us to reach out to the lost and to the broken. Even our smiles can be used by Him to bless and to refresh the people around us. I am convinced and encouraged by this since I saw and experienced this “smiling power” when I work as an usher in LinK. Truly, no one can describe what power our interactions with people hold.
  2. I had the chance to meet my small group members again after a 2-week hiatus due to other priorities. Our material circles in the topic “Trustworthiness,” which is timely, as it encourages each one of us to be pure with our words and convictions in order for us to be trustworthy and use that worth to pull people to Jesus. Also, I had the chance to update their high school lives, and we prayed for the power of God to prevail for the next weeks considering that we still have to face tests and paper submissions.
  3. This part is the most surprising, as I never thought of sharing my testimony again to hundreds of people. For me, this day is just a normal day, and I never thought of something special since I just attended the 3 pm service like the way I attended it before. Then, Nomer approached me and asked me to go with him and said he had a surprise for me with a grin. I asked, “Giving ba ito?” And he replied that it is not, Pastor James wants to talk to me. Then it was revealed that I am going to deliver an encouraging message, that everyone should share their faith instead of waiting for the end with my testimony. At first I am so hesitant in doing it, as I thought that, “This is so impromptu, and I didn’t have a serious and a sensible quiet time these past few weeks!” But God just crushed my fear and my hesitation and installed a Spirit of courage and conquest, a Spirit that encourages me to be a witness for the 3PM attendees. So after the prayers and final reminders, I returned back to my seat to worship, almost teary-eyed because of His revelation.
  4. Then I delivered my “impromptu” on the stage. I found myself shaking, and giddy as I saw the crowd. But, I made it by trusting God, thus breaking my comfort zones and saying what God has to say. Quoting Deuteronomy 10:12-15, I encouraged everyone to have that Spirit of speaking Life to others, to share His love to those who are around them. That they don’t have to be onstage for them to effectively share it, but to just have that leap of faith and trust to God.

And for you who are reading this, there are many avenues for sharing the Gospel. Each of us have been given gifts in order for us to reach-out in a strategic way. What is important is that we are chosen by God. We are chosen not just wait for the end times, but to share the works of our Jesus Christ through ourselves as His mirrors, mirrors that will reflect every change composed by God.

“And now, O Israel, what does the LORD your God ask of you but to fear the LORD your God, to walk in all his ways, to love him, to serve the LORD your God with all your heart and with all your soul, and to observe the LORD’s commands and decrees that I am giving you today for your own good? To the LORD your God belong the heavens, even the highest heavens, the earth and everything in it.  Yet the LORD set his affection on your forefathers and loved them, and he chose you, their descendants, above all the nations, as it is today.” Deut. 10:12-15 (NIV, emphasis mine)

Impromptu Day.

Leave a Reply

